Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Tawi Family Village

News & Articles

News & Articles


Posted on August 9, 2011 at 9:35 PM











 The symbolic representation of Maát as a human figure with outreached hands and wings, is the Netcher of the weighing of the soul in ancient Kemet. The heart of the deceased was believed to be the seat of the soul and it was weighed on the scale of the Netcher Maát, against a feather, which represented the principles of truth and righteousness (the seven cardinal virtues). This symbolic weighing of the heart against the feather of truth (Maát) was performed to established the righteousness of the deceased. The scale of Maát was balanced after the recitation of the "42 Declarations of Innocence or Admonitions of Maát"



1. I have not done iniquity.

2. I have not robbed with violence.

3. I have not stolen.

4. I have done no murder; I have done no harm.

5. I have not defrauded offerings.

6. I have not diminished obligations.

7. I have not plundered the neteru.

8. I have not spoken lies.

9. I have not uttered evil words.

10. I have not caused pain.

11. I have not committed fornication.

12. I have not caused shedding of tears.

13. I have not dealt deceitfully.

14. I have not transgressed.

15. I have not acted guilefully.

16. I have not laid waste the ploughed land.

17. I have not been an eavesdropper.

18. I have not set my lips in motion (against any man).

19. I have not been angry and wrathful except for a just cause.

20. I have not defiled the wife of any man.

21. I have not been a man of anger.

22. I have not polluted myself.

23. I have not caused terror.

24. I have not burned with rage.

25. I have not stopped my ears against the words of Right and Truth. (Ma-at)

26. I have not worked grief.

27. I have not acted with insolence.

28. I have not stirred up strife.

29. I have not judged hastily.

30. I have not sought for distinctions.

31. I have not multiplied words exceedingly.

32. I have not done neither harm nor ill.

33. I have not cursed the King. (i.e. violation of laws)

34. I have not fouled the water.

35. I have not spoken scornfully.

36. I have never cursed the neteru.

37. I have not stolen.

38. I have not defrauded the offerings of the Neteru.

39. I have not plundered the offerings of the blessed dead.

40. I have not filched the food of the infant.

41. I have not sinned against the neter of my native town.

42. I have not slaughtered with evil intent the cattle of the Neter.



The Neophyte or students ultimate aim in Kemet was for a person to become "One with God" or to "become like God." The path to the development of godlike qualities was through the development of virtue, but virtue could only be achieved through special study and effort. According to George G. M. James in his timeless work Stolen Legacy writes: The following of the 10 virtues were sought by the Neophyte in ancient Kemet. In the final analysis, the ancient Kemites sought Maát or to be more correct they sought to become one with Maát, the cosmic order.



(1). Control of thoughts

(2). Control of actions

(3). Devotion of purpose

(4). Have faith in the ability of [your] [teacher] to teach [you] the truth.

(5). Have faith in [yourself] to assimilate the truth

(6). Have faith in [themselves] to wield the truth

(7). Be free from resentment under the experience of persecution.

(8). Be free from resentment under the experience of wrong.

(9). Cultivate the ability to distinguish between right and wrong and

(10). Cultivate the ability to distinguish between the real and the unreal


Excerpts from

Categories: None